top of page
  • Writer's pictureD. A. Mortenson

Prairie Woods ELC presents My Ocean: Video Screening

"My Ocean" was an incredible journey through nature and history. View the documentary on Oct. 15, 2017 at 6:00pm.


Written by Bethany Lacktorin:

Last year, after a July rehearsal on Ordway Prairie we discovered huge patches of poison ivy growing through our path. I emailed Kory and Steve at PWELC and asked if they had any rubber boots I could borrow. Next thing you know I have 3 huge tubs of boots in my garage ready for audiences of all foot sizes. A year later it is my great pleasure to present this screening of My Ocean at Prairie Woods Environmental Learning Center. Count the boots!

When: Oct. 15, 2017 from 6:00pm to 7:30pm

Where:

Prairie Woods ELC 12718 10th Street NE Spicer, Minnesota 56288 $5-$10 Suggested Donation

ABOUT MY OCEAN - Performance Video Trailer (https://www.myoceansong.org/mo2016trailer) With diligence and heart, photographer and filmmaker Nik Nerburn (https://niknerburn.wordpress.com/) has created this video documenting the performance of My Ocean using footage capturing (and captured by) several audiences, participants and volunteers.

This film documents the experience of My Ocean, an outdoor, site-specific sound and performance installation that took place at Ordway Prairie Nature Preserve in Pope County, MN, in August 2016. Performance Artist Bethany Lacktorin led audiences on an hour-long walk through a carefully composed environment of sound, music and storytelling. The pathway runs through a diverse range of ecological habitats, as well as the ruins of Fort Lake Johanna, and the site of Lacktorin’s childhood home, which had previously been her great-grandmother’s General Store. Along the walk, Lacktorin shared stories ranging from her family history and personal memoir, to naturalist interpretations of the local ecology, Dakota history and Immigrant legends. Together in story, sound and music, I invite you to watch and listen with us as we meander through tall grasses.

So many people helped make My Ocean possible. Credits & Acknowledgements are listed at www.myoceansong.org. Congrats to all of us, neighbors, friends and family.

16 views0 comments
bottom of page